Leadbelly Important Recordings 1934-1949 [4 CD Box] 2006 320 kbps

Download Now


Artist: Leadbelly
Title Of Album: Important Recordings 1934-1949
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: JSP
Genre: Blue, Folk Blues, Country Blues
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Time: 05:04:03 min
Total Size: 798 mb
WWW: allmusic

JSP's four-CD Leadbelly box is an appropriately massive monument to a man whose power and intensity sometimes threatened to overwhelm the recording technology of his day. Ninety-six sides skim the surface of his prolific output during the last 15 years of Huddie Ledbetter's life, beginning with a selection from the Lomax field recordings cut during the summer of 1934 at the Louisiana State Penitentiary in Angola, and ending with an excerpt from a live concert at the University of Texas in Austin six months before his death in 1949. Forty-three examples from the Library of Congress sessions skim the surface of his sizable contribution to that archive, and are followed by a judicious selection of records he cut for seven commercial labels during a period when his brusque delivery was generally considered too brash and bracing for the average American listener. For a potent distillation of the man's approach to life and music, go directly to the hypnotically paced "Leaving on the Morning Train Blues" (disc 1 track 19), a nearly-ten-minute narrative that develops into Ledbetter's definitive statement on the blues as a possessing entity.

Virtually every facet of Leadbelly's repertoire is solidly represented here. He was an accomplished storyteller who specialized in folk ballads and ditties, as well as topical pieces inspired by current events and social protest songs that helped to fuel the emerging civil rights movement. There are love songs and work songs, many of them tracing back to slavery, plantations, prisons, and chain gangs. Leadbelly's Bluebird, Asch, and Capitol recordings include collaborations with the harmonizing Golden Gate Quartet, guitarist Josh White, and blues harpist Sonny Terry. While in Hollywood in 1944, he recorded for Capitol with Western swing sideman Paul Mason Howard, fresh from his tenure with Tennessee Ernie Ford and heard here on autoharp. A 1946 session for the east coast Disc label has him backed by Terry, Brownie McGhee, New Orleans bassist Pops Foster, and a nearly inaudible Willie "The Lion" Smith. Leadbelly's own multi-instrumentalism is documented by his concertina ("John Hardy" and "Corn Bread Rough"), barrelhouse piano ("Eagle Rock Rag") and tap dancing ("Green Corn"). From the very opening of "Western Cowboy," Leadbelly's voice has an elemental, penetrating quality that wells up throughout the entire collection. Note that "In New Orleans" is better known as "House of the Rising Sun," and "Gallis Pole" is the taproot of the popular Led Zeppelin version and a later visitation by Alvin Youngblood Hart. For even greater immersion in Leadbelly's music, try Document's multi-volume survey which digs deeper into the Library of Congress strata. There you will find (on Vol. 4, DOCD 5594) the original 1935 two-part realization of "Whoa Back Buck (Whoa Goddamn)", the exciting prologue to the version he recorded with the Golden Gate Quartet in June 1940. In this way, JSP's Leadbelly box becomes a portal through which the rest of his legacy is clearly discernable.

Disc A
1. Western Cowboy (3:40)
2. Blind Lemon Blues (4:18)
3. Midnight Special (2:58)
4. Irene (4:52)
5. C.C. Rider (4:14)
6. Governor O.K. Allen (2:44)
7. Julie Ann Johnson (2:10)
8. I'm Sorry Mama (3:04)
9. Take A Whiff On Me (2:08)
10. Boll Weevil (3:38)
11. The Titanic (4:46)
12. Green Corn (2:16)
13. Po' Howard (3:10)
14. De Kalb Blues (5:10)
15. Frankie And Albert (4:28)
16. Queen Mary (4:55)
17. The Hindenburg Disaster (Pt.1) (1:16)
18. The Hindenburg Disaster (Pt.2) (2:13)
19. Leaving On The Morning Train Blues (9:49)
20. The Bourgeois Blues (5:46)

Disc B
1. Roberta (Pt.1) (3:01)
2. Roberta (Pt.2) (3:04)
3. Packin' Trunk Blues (2:56)
4. C.C. Rider (2:59)
5. Becky Deem, She Was A Gamblin' Girl (3:05)
6. Honey, I'm All Out And Down (3:13)
7. Four Day Worry Blues (3:07)
8. You Can't Lose Me, Charlie (2:59)
9. New Black Snake Moan (3:12)
10. Alberta (3:07)
11. Baby, Don't You Love Me No (2:53)
12. Ox Drivin' Blues (2:55)
13. Death Letter Blues (Pt.1) (3:01)
14. Death Letter Blues (Pt.2) (3:01)
15. Kansas City Papa (2:50)
16. Red River Blues (3:02)
17. Fort Worth And Dallas Blues (3:02)
18. You Don't Know My Mind (3:04)
19. Daddy I'm Coming Back To You (2:50)
20. My Friend Blind Lemon (3:06)
21. Mr. Tom Hughes' Town (3:05)
22. Shorty George (3:07)
23. Matchbox Blues (3:03)
24. Yellow Jacket (2:53)
25. T.B. Woman Blues (3:08)

Disc C
1. Pig Meat Papa (3:17)
2. Bull Cow (2:45)
3. My Baby Quit Me (2:54)
4. Frankie And Albert (Pt.1) (2:51)
5. Frankie And Albert (Pt.2) (3:07)
6. Poor Howard/Green Corn (3:11)
7. The Gallis Pole (3:01)
8. Pick A Bale Of Cotton (3:02)
9. Whoa Back, Buck (3:07)
10. Midnight Special (3:05)
11. Rock Island Line (2:37)
12. Good Morning Blues (2:53)
13. T.B. Blues (3:09)
14. Red Cross Store Blues (3:08)
15. Sail On, Little Girl, Sail On (3:17)
16. I'm On My Last Go-Round (3:11)
17. New York City (3:02)
18. Grey Goose (3:04)
19. Stew Ball (3:00)
20. Take This Hammer (3:01)
21. Can't You Line 'Em (2:56)
22. Ham An' Eggs (2:57)
23. On A Monday (1:47)
24. John Henry (2:16)
25. How Long (2:13)
26. Ain't You Glad (2:03)

Disc D
1. John Hardy (4:18)
2. Where Did You Sleep Last Night (3:01)
3. Pretty Flowers In Your Backyard (2:45)
4. In New Orleans (3:15)
5. Outskirts Of Town (2:40)
6. Mother's Blues (Little Children Blues) (2:32)
7. In The Evenin' When The Sun Goes Down (2:33)
8. Jim Crow Blues (2:25)
9. Mr. Hitler (3:06)
10. Corn Bread Rough (2:08)
11. Ella Speed (2:45)
12. Rock Island Line (2:55)
13. Tell Me Baby (2:57)
14. Take This Hammer (2:54)
15. Irene (Goodnight Irene) (2:54)
16. On A Christmas Day (2:52)
17. Backwater Blues (2:58)
18. Eagle Rock Rag (2:51)
19. Sweet Mary Blues (2:57)
20. Grasshoppers In My Pillow (2:48)
21. Diggin' My Potatoes (2:35)
22. Defense Blues (3:19)
23. Easy Rider (2:50)
24. Pigmeat (2:19)
25. Howard Hughes (3:02)
26. Shine On Me (4:12)
Download Links:

Direct Download

Tags: Important, Recordings, Leadbelly
Farming Simulator Mods Softonic | How To Repair Car Engine Tutorial Trackback | Motogp Crack Pirate Bay Rk Rs Csfzeve Axvkj | Download After Effects Project Md Winter Reel | Loginquo T Normal Version Public Notes Rsadanx Rk Rsirxebcokqfyu | Rt Navteq Mappe | Iclone V Pro Trial Activar | Serial Etka X | Iskysoft Converterultima Te Registration Code And Email | Download The Raid Redemption Full Movie | Nymphomaniac Volume Online Free Streaming | Sex Story Wap Malayalam | Drum Play Songs Torrent | Sex Effects In Photofunia | Cxworx Torrent | Vbulletin Black Art Paintings | Download Freier Fall Hd Rk Rsyyfzvzgdexfiy | Sex Gangstars Rang | Paul Chance th Edition Download | Build Public Notes Normal Version Login Lion Rk Rs Xk Rk Rs Gedl

Leadbelly Important Recordings 1934-1949 [4 CD Box] 2006 320 kbps Download via Hotfile Rapidshare Fileserve Megaupload & FileSonic, Leadbelly Important Recordings 1934-1949 [4 CD Box] 2006 320 kbps free torrent downloads included crack, serial, keygen.

Add comments

Your Name:
Your E-Mail:

Security Code:
Include security image CAPCHA.
update code
Insert Code: